Peterson 9BC “Kapruf” (Pre ’59)

rebornpipes

This isn’t a restoration, but I hope you will indulge my fascination with the Peterson 9BC shape.

I enjoy collecting different finishes for my preferred shape and recently, the Peterson 9BC has caught my attention as of late. I found this “Kapruf” finish pipe on Ebay (via infamous seller Shinypipes…) and made an offer that was accepted. 9BC shapes don’t show up that often, but curiously, the seller had not identified the model in the ad, which was to my advantage. They had the pipe incorrectly listed as a “Pre-Republic, 1940’s-1950 era pipe. The stamping is worn but completely legible with the naked eye. The round “Made in England” stamp was reportedly used up to 1959, at least by the Pipepedia article.

I didn’t know much about the Kapruf line. It is described in a 1960’s catalog as:

Quote :
A fine sandblast finish distinguishes this range of light natural…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

