9. A Visual History of Peterson’s Limited Edition / Pipe of the Year: 1997 – 2014. (Revised)

Peterson’s Limited Edition / POY series is now in its 18th year, and I thought it would be fun to put images of all nineteen pipes together in one place. There are actually nineteen different shapes, because in 2000 a set of two different shapes was released.

LE1997
The First Limited Edition: 1997

LE1998
1998 Limited Edition

As we saw in the last blog, only the smooth pipes are called “Limited Edition” and numbered. The sandblasted edition is called the “Pipe of the Year” and stamped accordingly. The rustic version, at least for 2014, is stamped “LIMITED EDITION” with the year.

poy-1999-smokers-guild-31999 Limited Edition*

LE2000a
2000 Limited Edition: 1 of 2

LE2000b2000 Limited Edition: 2 of 2

The first four years of production lacked a year stamp (aside from the sterling hallmark) and were just stamped “LIMITED EDITION” and so on. That changed in 2001, when Peterson began stamping “Y” plus the year above the “LIMITED EDITION.”

Y2001 Stamp

LE2001
2001 Limited Edition: The First with the “Y” Prefix

LE2002
2002 Limited Edition

LE2003
2003 Limited Edition

LE2004
2004 Limited Edition

LE2005
2005 Limited Edition

LE2006
2006 Limited Edition
(The Briary)

LE2007
2007 Limited Edition

LE2008
2008 Limited Edition
(Smokingpipes.com)

LE2009
2009 Limited Edition

LE2010
2010 Limited Edition
(Smokingpipes.com)

LE2011
2011 Limited Edition
(Smokingpipes.com)

LE2012
2012 Limited Edition
(AlPascia)

LE2013
2013 Limited Edition
(Smokingpipes.com)

LE2014
2014 Limited Edition (AlPascia)

I’ve had several of LEs in my rotation over the years and from time to time think it might be fun to collect all of them, but then I get practical and remember pipes that I didn’t hit it off with, pipes that lay gathering dust and tarnish in the rack—the curse of not being a collector, I suppose. However, if you or anyone you know has a complete collection, please drop me a line—we’d love to photograph a complete set for the Peterson book but haven’t been able to locate anyone who owns the entire run.

 

*Thanks to Jim Frenken for correcting the photo for 1999. The image is from Peterson’s Smoker’s Guild #3, Summer 1999.

12 thoughts on “9. A Visual History of Peterson’s Limited Edition / Pipe of the Year: 1997 – 2014. (Revised)

  1. Hi Jeff,
    While Peterson estate prices are rising, they’re still the greatest bargain around. I’ve seen early Limited Editions with asking prices of $1,000 and $750, unsmoked and with the original box and ephemera, but I haven’t seen anyone paying those prices . . . yet! The market worth will depend, of course, on the condition of the pipe in question. In the last year or so, I’ve picked up some Limited Editions as new/old stock for less than $200. The publication of the book next year will (unfortunately for me!) raise prices a little more–maybe a lot more. You can get a good idea of what the LE / POYs are going for by following them on ebay. A lot of it still depends at this point on the popularity of a particular shape. The Shamrock 999 Chubby, for example, was a lower-grade pipe of the 1940s and 50s, but it’s extremely sought after by Pete Nuts and almost always sells for more than $100 if in good condition. Same with any Peterson Oom-Paul–the 02s, etc.

  2. Pingback: The B Shapes, Part 2 (B12 – B21) | peterson pipe notes

  3. I have been collecting as many of the POTY shapes I have been able to get my hands on. In my search for them I end up with one particular question though: why do so many pipes pop up saying they are the 1999 POTY, especially a smooth red bulldog spigot shape. Where doea this shape come from? I have no doubt in my mind it is a peterson. Was it released as an alternative POTY for a particular market? I wold love to hear your thoughts on this!

    • Hi Jim! At last–someone who is collecting the POTYs! How wonderful. The illustration for the 1999 POTY in my article is the one Peterson released, as seen in their SMOKERS GUILD magazine of the period. Is there some other pipe you are referring to? The one in the photo — the official one for 1999 — has a gold-plate over sterling mount, as seen in the photo. It was not a reproduction of an earlier Peterson shape, but an original XL produced for the release. I’ll email you directly if you can add any more information to your question.

      • This is the pipe I am refering to:

        (photo courtesy of mw-estate-pipes)
        (Unfortunately dont know how yo place a photo in my reply.)

        I have seen them come by on Ebay quite regularly and they are always refered to as Peterson POTY 1999. Luckily I have your blog to use as a referance for my collecting endeavours to check what pipes to keep a look out for. This one just seems an odd one since it keeps popping up referred to as a pipe of the year although it does not show up in your list (which I completely trust as being correct!).

      • Hey Jim,

        Thanks for calling my attention to this! The photo in my blog for 1999 is actually the same pipe, with different stem, than that shown for 1997. I THOUGHT that was strange when I first wrote the blog. I have corrected it, and attach the Smoker’s Guild No. 3, Summer 1999 cover photo for you.

        Mary Coulahan, who is offering the pipe, is a reputable dealer. I’ve bought pipes from her before. The photos plainly show the Peterson POTY markings.

        I also revised that blog and credited you for your help.

        Best,

        Mark

  4. Hi Mark

    Any idea why there has never been a POTY offered with a P-Lip?
    It seems strange that a feature that is uniquely Peterson has never been seen on their annual special edition

    • Aye! There’s the rub. I just asked director Conor Palmer that very question today. Peterson’s last real commitment to the P-Lip was in the Sherlock Holmes series, and it’s a great shame, as the P-Lip will outsmoke and outperform a fishtail every time. Unfortunately, mine is the minority opinion, and the folks at Peterson need persuading. Do drop Conor a line at Conor@peterson.ie. They need convincing from the fan base, as they take their intel from their distributors, who (in my opinion) don’t know what we want. He will listen to you. Case in point: the Christmas pipe a few years back was scheduled to be released as an army mount, but Peterson was dissuaded by their distributors. Hmm. Fast-forward 2 years and we have a 2016 army mount Christmas pipe!

      • I have noticed that a lot of the new lines from Peterson seem to have been focusing on Army Mounts and shying away from P-Lips. I always thought it was a costing issue as I imagine an army mount would require less finishing that a flush mount. With the P-Lip, considering theyre the only ones who really use it I would guess it a feature non Peterson fans would shy away from due to the fact its rarely seen elsewhere

  5. Yes sir, it was the B20. Only ever seen the unfinished Shamrock, I believe, in that pipe. If you’ve made another sighting, let me know! It must have sold extremely well, or perhaps (as it sometimes the case) never have made the full 1000 in the lot.

Leave a Reply

